Haute Couture Bikes….I don’t know whether to laugh, cry or drool.

Really. I am drooling a bit because these bikes are GORGEOUS. While they go far beyond what a middle-of-the-road female like me can afford – it’s fun to look, and I am a big fan of anything that promotes bike love. Whether it’s completely over the top, or vintage ebay chic – I want ’em all. Since you know…bikes are the new handbag.

 

This is a $3,420 honey.  Look at all that red.  Its smokin!

This is a $3,420 Gucci honey. Look at all that red. It's smokin'!

 

Fully-equipped for $9500 you get a fur pannier, leather encased lock and water bottle holder, a box and skirt guards. Whoa.

A Fully-equipped Fendi for $9500. You get a fur pannier, leather encased lock and water bottle holder, a box and skirt guards. Whoa.

 

For a mere $4000 you can get an Hermes laquered stainless steel bike with signature orange leather

For a mere $4000 you can get an Hermes laquered stainless steel bike with signature orange leather

Starting at $12,000 including Chanels signature quilted bag.  Umm...

The Chanel starts at $12,000 and includes Chanel's signature quilted bag. Umm...

A $1200 bike for mommy, daddy and baby.  I just love this one.

A $1200 Cynthia Rowley bike for a couple and their baby. I just love this one.

 

So ladies (and men they have male versions too) what do you think?  Ridiculous??  Awe-inspiring?   Tell me how you really feel.  

If after careful internal examination, you decide you must have one of these luscious bikes to flaunt your outer fashionista, the Gucci Store in Charleston Place will probably order one up for you, or you can get a Cynthia Rowley bike at 341 King St.  And I think some of them just went on sale for $299.  Now THAT’S a price I can do.

4 Comments on “Haute Couture Bikes….I don’t know whether to laugh, cry or drool.”

  1. Christa says:

    Pretty, but unpractical.

    Compared to the total cost of a car, an expensive bike can be worth the high price (i.e. increased health and social capital). However, most US cities don’t have safe bicycle parking to protect it.

    Just saw a beautiful Fendi Abici in the June Vogue. Well, at least they are promoting cycling!

  2. John B. says:

    First of all, thanks for visiting my blog yesterday. Much appreciated, and you may also have noticed that I’ve linked to you along with other Cycle Chic blogs.

    Most of these bicycles are indeed beautiful–and even functional–but I just have to say: Fur panniers?? Christie’s observation of “impractical” is the polite way to put what I’m thinking.

  3. 2whls3spds says:

    Well considering that the price of Gucci bike alone would cover the cost of over half my collection of chic bikes (somewhere around 17 or so).I think I will pass. 😉 However if my bride were to discover them…all bets are off. 😛

    Aaron

  4. I personally don’t care for the Hermes bike all that much, but the Gucci, Fendi (could do without the fur, though), and Chanel bikes are, in a word, SexyAsAllGetOut.

    I’m not a materialistic superficial consumer. I swear.

    That Cynthia Rowley bike makes me wish that my boyfriend was a) a cyclist; and b) interested in having a gayby so we could tote it along on our weekend excursions to the Farmers Market.

    A boy can dream….

    ^_^


Leave a Reply

